Wonders of the world


 The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
Although most people know that a list exists of the Seven World Wonders, only few can name them. The list of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World was originally compiled around the second century BC. The first reference to the idea is found in History of Herodotus as long ago as the 5th century BC. Decades later, Greek historians wrote about the greatest monuments at the time. Callimachus of Cyrene (305BC-240BC), Chief Librarian of the Alexandria Mouseion, wrote "A Collection of Wonders around the World". All we know about the collection is its title, for it was destroyed with the Alexandria Library.

The final list of the Seven Wonders was compiled during the Middle Ages. The list comprised the seven most impressive monuments of the Ancient World, some of which barely survived to the Middle Ages. Others did not even co-exist. Among the oldest references to the canonical list are the engravings by the Dutch artist Maerten van Heemskerck (1498-1574), and Johann Fischer von Erlach's History of Architecture.

Today, archaeological evidence reveals some of the mysteries that surrounded the history of the Wonders for centuries. For their builders, the Seven Wonders were a celebration of religion, mythology, art, power, and science. For us, they reflect the ability of humans to change the surrounding landscape by building massive yet beautiful structures, one of which stood the test of time to this very day.

 The Seven Wonders of the Medieval Mind


The medieval mind, just like the classical mind before it, was captivated by the wondrous things people had made. For much of the thousand-year period known as the Middle Ages, most Europeans lived in small, isolated communities; travel was difficult and often dangerous; and knowledge was confined to, and often controlled by men of the church. The great civilizations of Greece and Rome were long gone, but even so, some of their glory was still remembered. Travelers brought back tales of an incredible civilization in the East which sparked the European imagination.Following the third century B.C. when lists of wonders were compiled, many scholars and philosophers modified these lists to reflect their own opinions. At some point around the Middle Ages, another list appeared - the medieval world's seven wonders.The surviving list holds a particular fascination because only some of its marvels actually date from the Middle Ages. The list represents almost 4,500 years of human endeavor.

The Seven Natural Wonders of the World



 The world's natural wonders differ from the other grouping of wonders in that they were not made or improved upon by humans. They actually humble humanity.The local native peoples have known these wonders for millenia, however this list came to the notice of the Western world relatively recently. For example, Mount Everest wasn't identified as the world's highest peak until 1852, and its exact height is periodically disputed to this day.Today, these wonders have become places of pilgrimage, where awe is its own reward.

The Seven Underwater Wonders of the World

A noted marine explorer named Jacques-Yves Cousteau wrote: "It is all strange, unearthly, and yet familiar. Strange because the sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonders forever."Diving is becoming a much more popular sport as humans become more fascinated with the diverse ecosystems of the deep. Coral reefs, like many of these underwater wonders, are structures built by living organisms. Second only to tropical rain forests in biodiversity, coral reefs provide homes for thousands of species. Unfortunately, they are at risk all around the world.To promote awareness of the fragile marine ecosystem, CEDAM International - an organization dedicated to conservation, education, diving, and marine research - began the Seven Wonders of the World project in 1989. The message was simple: If underwater wonders are not protected, they will be lost forever. After considering sites around the world, CEDAM chose Palau, the Belize Barrier Reef, the Galapagos Islands, the Northern Red Sea, Lake Baikal, the Great Barrier Reef, and the Deep Sea Vents. Each was selected on the basis of its natural beauty, unique marine life, scientific research value, environmental significance, and whether it is representative of an overall area.

The Seven Wonders of the Modern World

The 20th century has provided spectacular advances in design, engineering, and construction which have allowed humanity to create an array of monumental structures. And from these, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), with help from experts around the world, selected these wonders: the Empire State building, the Itaipu Dam, the CN Tower, the Panama Canal, the Channel Tunnel, the North Sea Protection Works, and the Golden Gate Bridge.These wonders embody an abundance of human ingenuity, thus showcasing humankind's ability to dream, plan, and achieve on a colossal, mind-boggling scale.Man has an incredible ability to make the impossible, possible.

The Seven Forgotten Natural Wonders of the World

The Seven Forgotten Modern Wonders of the World


The Seven Forgotten Wonders of the Medeival Mind


The Forgotten Wonders